Tag Archive | Christian

A Lady of High Regard by Tracie Peterson

A Lady of High Regard“Born into affluence, Mia Stanley is a winsome socialite with a knack for matchmaking. She’s also a writer for Godey’s Lady’s Book magazine, much to the dismay of her family – and their society friends. A proper young lady of her social standing isn’t meant to labor in such a way, but Mia has always had a way with words… When her writing draws her into the world of downtrodden seamen’s wives on Philadelphia’s docks, Mia uncovers an alarming scheme that puts her in harm’s way. But her heart ends up on the line as well… Has her determination to always make a match driven away the one man whose esteem she covets?”

A Lady of High Regard is the first novel in the Ladies of Liberty trilogy. Mia Stanley not only has a way with words but a way of talking to people. People trust her and feel comfortable telling her the truth about their life and what is really going on in their neighborhood. Once Mia realized the scandals and schemes that were occurring at the docks she had no other choice then to help those in need. Continue reading


Like Gold Refined by Janette Oke

Like Gold Refined“After years of turmoil, Virginia Lewis is finally satisfied with her life. God has blessed her with the love of her husband Jonathan and four wonderful children, one of which is the daughter of her wayward childhood friend Jenny. Ten-year-old Mindy has grown into a healthy, faith-filled child and a full-fledged member of the Lewis family. But when a desperate Jenny arrives to reclaim her daughter, Virginia and Jonathan find themselves in a battle they had never foreseen. Will her heart ever find the peace she years for?”

Like Gold Refined is the fourth and final novel in the Prairie Legacy series. Not only is this novel the last one in its series it is also the novel that puts an end to the Love Comes Softly family series. I had a hard time wrapping my mind around that fact but many of the characters from the previous series are either gone or have aged and are waiting for heaven to call their name up as well. Virginia’s life has been indeed blessed by the Lord. She has everything she could possibly ever want: faith, love and a family. Continue reading

A Quiet Strength by Janette Oke

A Quiet  Strength“When her stetson-wearing neighbor left to seek his fortune, Virginia Simpson remained at home, sustained by hope and an expectant heart. Now that her beloved Jonathan is back, she can’t wait to become Mrs. Lewis and begin the life she’s always dreamed about. But married life isn’t quite what she expected… When an old friend presents a surprising choice for the couple, Virginia must decide from whom to draw her strength.”

A Quiet Strength is the third novel in the Prairie Legacy series. It’s hard to believe that Virginia Simpson, who was once an extremely emotional teenager, is now a mature and married woman. She got the life that I had hoped she would: a great husband, strong faith in the Lord, and she turned out to be a great person. One who strived to live her life the way that the good Lord would have wanted her to. Jenny, on the other hand, also got the life that she wanted but it wasn’t a life that treated her kindly or cared about her. It was heartbreaking to read about how her life turned out to be. Continue reading

A Searching Heart by Janette Oke

A Searching Heart“As graduation day approaches, eighteen-year-old Virginia Simpson is more than ready to head off to college, reunite with her childhood sweetheart, and finally be allowed to embrace the freedom of adulthood. But when a family crisis forces her to abandon her carefully laid plans, Virginia learns the deeper meaning of “growing into adulthood.” Does God have somethings else – something she hadn’t considered – in mind for her?”

A Searching Heart is the second novel in the Prairie Legacy series. As Virginia is about to graduate high school she feels as though she has the perfect plan laid out for her life: go to college, be Jamison’s wife, and live happily ever after. The funny thing about making plans ourselves is that sometimes they don’t align with the plan that God has prepared for us. If that happens to be the case then we can always count on Him to change those plans so that they do align with His plans. Compared to the previous novel, Virginia has grown up a great deal. Continue reading

The Tender Years by Janette Oke

The Tender Years“Twenty years have passed since youngest daughter Belinda’s story in Love Finds a Home. Marty and Clark’s spiritual heritage has been lovingly passed on to their children and grandchildren and great-grandchildren. And now beloved granddaughter Virginia faces the test of her young life. Caught in that difficult period between childhood and adulthood, feeling that she really doesn’t fit anymore, Virginia struggles against what she considers to be unreasonable restrictions and expectations. A lively new girl arrives at school, and Jenny seems to represent everything that Virginia is longing for – her looks, her daring, her alluring freedom from constraints. But then comes the day neither girl will ever forget…”

After originally deciding to end the Love Comes Softly Series, with the final eight novel being Love Finds a Home, Janette Oke came back and wrote a sequel series. The Tender Years is the first novel in the series called A Prairie Legacy. Personally, I am thrilled that Janette Oke decided to come back to the Love Comes Softly Series and prolong it. I found it to be inspirational and uplifting. Continue reading

Love Finds A Home by Janette Oke

Love Finds A Home“Belinda Davis’s move to Boston had introduced her to a life she never could have imagined growing up in the West. But even the opportunities of wealth, literature, and travel left her feeling empty. Realizing her faith had been pushed into the background, she once again invites God to have first place in her life. But now she faces new life decisions that seem even more difficult than before. Torn between two contrasting ways of life, one full of fascinating opportunities in the East and one represented by the beloved farm home in which she was raised, she clings to the principles that are her parents’ legacy: faith, love, and family.”

Love Finds A Home is the eight and final novel in the Love Comes Softly series. Even though I knew that this book was the final one in this series I had a difficult time accepting it. After Belinda had realized that her faith had been pushed back she decides to reevaluate her life and make a few changes, ones that she realized shouldn’t have been altered in the first place. With Aunt Virgie making an unplanned trip to New York, Belinda decides that it would be a perfect time to go home and visit her loved ones. Continue reading

Love Takes Wing by Janette Oke

Love Takes Wing“Belinda Davis is restless. As her friends get married and have children of their own, she wonders what God has in store for her. Her life as a nurse seems dull and routine. She craves excitement and adventure. When she meets an elderly woman who needs nursing care, Belinda jumps at the invitation to travel to Boston, a large, vibrant city so unlike the little prairie town where she was raised. Opportunities for books, theatre, and the luxuries of life provide excitement… for a time. But in spite of financial security, countless new experiences, and even some romance, Belinda finds herself restless, lonely, and empty inside.”

Love Takes Wing is the seventh novel in the Love Comes Softly Series. This novel continues with Belinda’s story. Now as a nurse in her little town, Belinda watches her friends and family members begin their own families. Even though she herself has a few opportunities to begin a family of her own presented to her Belinda decides to go on a different path. One that shows her a different side of life. The life of luxury and tranquility. Continue reading