Tag Archive | Janette Oke

Roses For Mama by Janette Oke

Roses for Mama“It had all turned out to be so strange, so ironic. Angela Peterson’s family had moved west because her mother had not been well and the doctor said the cooler, clear air of the region might be easier on her lungs. Her father sold the farm and loaded everything they could take with them in three wagons. They found new land and a new life, setting about to build another farm. Her mother’s health did improve – at least for a while. Then a winter cold put her back in bed and it became clear she had only months to live. Angela was just fourteen at the time, and in those intervening months her mother tried to prepare her for the responsibility of raising three young siblings. But no one dreamed that something would happen to their father. For Angela, now seventeen, and her older brother Thomas, the profound events that reshaped their family also changed their lives. Angela does her best to care for the children, but still wonders if she is providing everything they need – like her mother did. And as the children grow, the questions and challenges intensify, at times even feel overwhelming. Preparing them for life seems to require something more.” Continue reading


Like Gold Refined by Janette Oke

Like Gold Refined“After years of turmoil, Virginia Lewis is finally satisfied with her life. God has blessed her with the love of her husband Jonathan and four wonderful children, one of which is the daughter of her wayward childhood friend Jenny. Ten-year-old Mindy has grown into a healthy, faith-filled child and a full-fledged member of the Lewis family. But when a desperate Jenny arrives to reclaim her daughter, Virginia and Jonathan find themselves in a battle they had never foreseen. Will her heart ever find the peace she years for?”

Like Gold Refined is the fourth and final novel in the Prairie Legacy series. Not only is this novel the last one in its series it is also the novel that puts an end to the Love Comes Softly family series. I had a hard time wrapping my mind around that fact but many of the characters from the previous series are either gone or have aged and are waiting for heaven to call their name up as well. Virginia’s life has been indeed blessed by the Lord. She has everything she could possibly ever want: faith, love and a family. Continue reading

A Quiet Strength by Janette Oke

A Quiet  Strength“When her stetson-wearing neighbor left to seek his fortune, Virginia Simpson remained at home, sustained by hope and an expectant heart. Now that her beloved Jonathan is back, she can’t wait to become Mrs. Lewis and begin the life she’s always dreamed about. But married life isn’t quite what she expected… When an old friend presents a surprising choice for the couple, Virginia must decide from whom to draw her strength.”

A Quiet Strength is the third novel in the Prairie Legacy series. It’s hard to believe that Virginia Simpson, who was once an extremely emotional teenager, is now a mature and married woman. She got the life that I had hoped she would: a great husband, strong faith in the Lord, and she turned out to be a great person. One who strived to live her life the way that the good Lord would have wanted her to. Jenny, on the other hand, also got the life that she wanted but it wasn’t a life that treated her kindly or cared about her. It was heartbreaking to read about how her life turned out to be. Continue reading

A Searching Heart by Janette Oke

A Searching Heart“As graduation day approaches, eighteen-year-old Virginia Simpson is more than ready to head off to college, reunite with her childhood sweetheart, and finally be allowed to embrace the freedom of adulthood. But when a family crisis forces her to abandon her carefully laid plans, Virginia learns the deeper meaning of “growing into adulthood.” Does God have somethings else – something she hadn’t considered – in mind for her?”

A Searching Heart is the second novel in the Prairie Legacy series. As Virginia is about to graduate high school she feels as though she has the perfect plan laid out for her life: go to college, be Jamison’s wife, and live happily ever after. The funny thing about making plans ourselves is that sometimes they don’t align with the plan that God has prepared for us. If that happens to be the case then we can always count on Him to change those plans so that they do align with His plans. Compared to the previous novel, Virginia has grown up a great deal. Continue reading

The Tender Years by Janette Oke

The Tender Years“Twenty years have passed since youngest daughter Belinda’s story in Love Finds a Home. Marty and Clark’s spiritual heritage has been lovingly passed on to their children and grandchildren and great-grandchildren. And now beloved granddaughter Virginia faces the test of her young life. Caught in that difficult period between childhood and adulthood, feeling that she really doesn’t fit anymore, Virginia struggles against what she considers to be unreasonable restrictions and expectations. A lively new girl arrives at school, and Jenny seems to represent everything that Virginia is longing for – her looks, her daring, her alluring freedom from constraints. But then comes the day neither girl will ever forget…”

After originally deciding to end the Love Comes Softly Series, with the final eight novel being Love Finds a Home, Janette Oke came back and wrote a sequel series. The Tender Years is the first novel in the series called A Prairie Legacy. Personally, I am thrilled that Janette Oke decided to come back to the Love Comes Softly Series and prolong it. I found it to be inspirational and uplifting. Continue reading

Love Takes Wing by Janette Oke

Love Takes Wing“Belinda Davis is restless. As her friends get married and have children of their own, she wonders what God has in store for her. Her life as a nurse seems dull and routine. She craves excitement and adventure. When she meets an elderly woman who needs nursing care, Belinda jumps at the invitation to travel to Boston, a large, vibrant city so unlike the little prairie town where she was raised. Opportunities for books, theatre, and the luxuries of life provide excitement… for a time. But in spite of financial security, countless new experiences, and even some romance, Belinda finds herself restless, lonely, and empty inside.”

Love Takes Wing is the seventh novel in the Love Comes Softly Series. This novel continues with Belinda’s story. Now as a nurse in her little town, Belinda watches her friends and family members begin their own families. Even though she herself has a few opportunities to begin a family of her own presented to her Belinda decides to go on a different path. One that shows her a different side of life. The life of luxury and tranquility. Continue reading

Love’s Unfolding Dream by Janette Oke

Love's Unfolding Dream“Belinda, Marty and Clark Davis’s ‘surprise child,’ has always had a tender and compassionate heart toward anything hurt or broken. Her brother, Doctor Luke, influences her toward nursing and a job as his assistant. But will she have the inner strength to face hurt and broken people whose bodies, minds, and emotions need mending? And what will happen when Belinda, Amy Jo, and Melissa all fall for the same fellow?”

Love’s Unfolding Dream is the sixth novel in the Love Comes Softly Series. This novel is as delightful and captivating as the previous five novels. It was really interesting to see how Clark and Marty’s life had unfolded and continued after the birth of their unexpected child. Even though both are now grandparents many times over, it’s hard to see them as such. I still see them the way I had visualized them from the first novel. Compared to the previous novel, where Luke decided to become a doctor, this book has a great deal more medical scenes and information. It is actually quite fascinating, yet I still would not go into the medical field myself. Continue reading